# ECE Day

#### Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Illinois Institute of Technology

*The Electrical and Computer Engineering Department's year end event, ECE Day*, held on Friday, April 13 was a huge success. We would like to thank our <u>External Advisory Board</u>, Faculty and students for participating and highlight some of the activities of the day.



69 ECE students (53 Ph.D. students, 8 M.S. students, 8 Undergraduate students) from all degree levels exhibited their research in the areas of Computer Networks and Communications, Signal and Image Processing, Power Electronics, Power Systems, Digital Systems and VLSI, and Electronics and Electromagnetics in a Poster Competition. Before the winners were announced, Dr. Bill Cardoso, an ECE Alum and member of the ECE External Advisory Board, gave a seminar on "*How to Know if You Should Start Your Own Business*" (LINK). Dr. Cardoso drew from his years of entrepreneurial expertise by sharing the knowledge he has gleaned from developing two success businesses.



In total, there were twelve winners; six PhD winners, a first place award for each research area, and three winners (first, second and third place across all areas) from the Master's students and three from Undergraduate students. Below are the names of the poster winners and some pictures from the day's events.

### Ph.D. Students

Kecheng Liu Oriol Caudevilla Torras Yanlin Li Zhen Tian Tianjiao Liu David Hentrich Computer Networks and Communications Signal and Image Processing Electronics and Electromagnetics Power Systems Power Electronics Digital Systems and VLSI



Kecheng Liu

Oriol Caudevilla Torras



Yanlin Li

Zhen Tian



Tianjiao Liu

David Hentrich

# Master's Students

Amolika A. Bhonsle (1<sup>st</sup> Place) Tao Liu (2<sup>nd</sup> Place) Muyu Yang (3<sup>rd</sup> Place)

Computer Networks and Communications Computer Networks and Communications Digital Systems and VLSI



Amolika A. Bhonsle

Tao Liu



Muyu Yang

## Undergraduate Students

Timothy Ayodele (1<sup>st</sup> Place) Pedro Morales and Alexander Messina (2<sup>nd</sup> Place) Bryan Scott (3<sup>rd</sup> Place)

Digital Systems and VLSI Power Electronics Digital Systems and VLSI



Timothy Ayodele

On behalf of the ECE faculty, I would like to congratulate the winners and all those who participated in ECE Day. Special thanks go to the ECE Staff, Joanette Catino, Darnita Murphy and Won-Jae Yi for preparation and contributions to all phases of ECE Day.

## Jafar Saniie, Department Chair and Filmer Endowed Professor